Skip to content

Corn and Orka Pudding

09.13.2010

So yesterday, in between running a 5k, trying unsuccessfully to clean my house, and meeting a friend for drinks, I trekked out to MizzMaggieB’s place for a food blogger pot luck.

I was slightly apprehensive about this gathering. Yes, I follow a bunch of these people on Twitter. I read their blogs. But I’ve never met them. They don’t know me. And now, I was supposed to cook for them?!?! Scary! I’ve spent too much time reading about their delicious kitchen creations not to be intimidated.

I fretted about what to make. Originally, I was going to make succotash, which has been a favorite this summer. But I ran out of time, and I worried that there would be vegetarians there and the succotash has bacon in it. I thought about sangria, but again, ran out of time.

In the end, I wound up throwing together a corn and okra pudding and then hopping in the shower and getting ready while it baked. And you know what? I shouldn’t have worried at all. This was a gathering of food bloggers. There was plenty to eat and drink and while everyone ate the pudding and (I think) liked it, I probably could have showed up empty-handed and been welcomed with open arms. It felt like a gathering of old friends, except I’d just met them all for the first time.

Thanks, Maggie, for your hospitality (and the pork. Oh, my, the pork…). And thanks to the others for great conversation and camaraderie!

(To read more specifics, check out Cave Cibum’s post, here.)

Corn and Okra Pudding

(Adapted from the Lee Bros. I’ve lightened this recipe significantly, swapping out the half-and-half for milk, cutting the butter and adding a touch of cheese.)

4 c frozen cut okra (this is more widely available than fresh, but if you’ve got the real stuff, by all means use it. It’ll be delish!)
3 c 2 percent milk
2 tsp salt
2 tsp sugar
5 eggs
Corn cut off of 5 fresh ears
1 ounce finely shredded white cheese (cheddar, manchego, whatever you like)

- Heat oven to 350.
– Grease a 9×13 Pyrex dish (I use Pam because it’s quick and less messy).
– Put okra in a dry frying pan and cook over medium-high heat until thawed and slightly browned, about 10 min.
– Crack eggs into a bowl, whisk and add milk, sugar and salt.
– Put okra in greased pan and top with corn. Pour egg mixture over it and then sprinkle with salt and pepper.
– Bake for 45 minutes, until cooked through.
– Remove and sprinkle with cheese.
– Let cool slightly before serving.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.14.2010 11:52 am

    Actually, this was one of my favorite dishes at that potluck. I loved it!

    • Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
      09.14.2010 11:57 am

      Thanks, Janis! Everything was really good… I think we should all get together more often!

  2. Anne L permalink
    09.16.2010 12:18 am

    I have a ton of okra in my fridge due to impulsive farmers marketing!! Hallelujah for a super amazing delish recipe! Must make soon, sounds tasty tasty tasty.

    • Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
      09.16.2010 12:09 pm

      Okra gumbo is another option!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,760 other followers

