Skip to content

Lesson learned

09.19.2010
tags: ,

The internet is full of conversation regarding sifting flour, along with explanations as to why we sift and whether to measure before or after sifting. Generally, I follow whatever the recipe says. If it calls for sifting, I’ll do it, but if not, I won’t. This morning, however, my recipe did call for sifting. As the flour poured through, little black things emerged and I thought to myself, “Man, I guess this is why you sift flour, look at all those rocks.”

Then I looked a bit closer, and realized that those “rocks” were moving. They were worms. Ugh.

Shame on me for not taking a closer look at the flour I’d found on the top shelf of my cupboard after who knows how long. I’d thought I was out of flour last week and was kind of delighted to find this little cache stuffed into a dark, hardly ever looked at corner. I made a pie crust with the stuff, and didn’t think twice about it. Shame on me for being to lazy to just go to the store.

My flour habits (including storage) are currently being evaluated. If any of you have any words of wisdom on storing/using flour, I’d love to hear them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.20.2010 6:32 pm

    Sifting v. not sifting – as far as I understand there are two purposes – removing the lumps and fluffing the flour up for consistent and correct measurement. I measure my flour by weight instead of volume, which I would very highly recommend. You can get a very affordable digital scale that measures in both grams and ounces. Mine measures to the 1/8 of an ounce. For storage, I keep my extra flour (and sugar) in the freezer. Good luck!

  2. 11.11.2010 9:41 am

    These aren’t worms… They’re weevils and they spread fast. Check all of your dry ingredients before using them now. We use nothing but plastic bins for storage and all rice and flour gets sifted into the storage. Those are the two biggest loves of weevils.

    • Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
      11.11.2010 6:12 pm

      oh gross…. but thanks! I keep my rice in plastic in the fridge… I guess I should do the same with flour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 936 other followers

