Skip to content

Dinner quick and dirty

01.07.2011

I started my New Year with all these resolutions about being a better blogger… and they promptly fell apart. Truth is, I caught the flu in France and hardly ate a thing. Yes, you read that right. No cheese. No wine. No pate. I had no appetite. I might be the only person ever to go to France on vacation and lose weight. No eating = no blogging. That’s how it goes with a food blog. It was a sad time here at The Musing Bouche.

Since I’ve been back, I haven’t made it to the grocery store. I ate a veggie burger for dinner Wednesday. You don’t want to read about that. I had pho for lunch yesterday. Bor-ing. But I’ve finally got something worth your time.

I’m guessing that at least a few of you have resolutions to do more cooking. Spend less on take out. Eat more whole foods. Maybe eat cheaper. Or more sustainably. This, my blog friends, is the recipe for you.

It takes 15 minutes. Contains four ingredients. Includes some of the most sustainable seafood out there. And it’ll feed four for under $5. What is this wonder-meal, you ask? Quite simply, it’s anchovy spaghetti.

I heard that gasp. I might have detected a gag. Anchovy? Yes, anchovy. Those little fish have gotten a bad name, but anchovies are a treasure. They’re the zing in your Caesar salad, the deliciousness in your tomato sauce. Cooking takes the fishiness away… you’re left with savoriness and salt. Very satisfying.

Credit for this recipe goes to my overworked and underpaid newspaper reporter friends.

Anchovy Spaghetti

4 Tablespoons olive oil, plus a little extra
3 tins anchovy fillets in oil
4 cloves garlic, crushed and diced
1 lb pasta of your choice (linguine is good)
Parmesan, salt and red pepper flakes

Heat water for pasta, and cook. While the pasta boils, make the sauce.

Heat olive oil in a medium-sized frying pan and add garlic. Stir a few seconds and then add anchovies, with their oil. Mix around, the anchovies will break up as they cook.

Drain the cooked pasta. Put in a bowl and pour the sauce over. Add salt, red pepper flakes and cheese to taste. Stir well. If mixture is too dry, add more olive oil.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.07.2011 9:35 pm

    Funny tidbit, anchovies are the only meat or fish I have knowingly eaten in the past 10 years that I’ve been a vegetarian. The puttanesca sauce they made on my farm in Italy had anchovies in it. I did not want to forgo the pasta and I couldn’t taste anything fishy. So it was fine by me! So sorry about your sickness though! I wish you another trip very soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Dinner quick and dirty « The Musing Bouche -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,764 other followers

