Skip to content

Strong to the finish

01.14.2011

Eating spinach always makes me think of this guy. And I was channelling him full throttle on Wednesday when I made some spinach soup.

Let me explain. I made a new friend Wednesday in the form of a Rachel Allen cookbook. I don’t have a TV and so I tend to be behind on these trends… maybe you already love her? After perusing “Entertaining at Home,” I’m smitten.

I knew as soon as I came across her Spinach Soup with Rosemary Oil recipe that I had to try it. Today. I’ve been wanting to make a spinach soup ever since I saw this one on Pioneer Woman. I had a pound of spinach in the fridge and a brand new immersion blender. The stars were aligned. Sort of. I didn’t have the potato Rachel Allen called for. Or the rosemary. And I was slightly low on milk. So some improvising came into play. Truffle oil, toast, evaporated milk.

No matter. This is something special. No, it won’t give you the strength to knock out thugs with a single blow (if it does for you, let me know. I’d love to add that to the blog). But it will knock your socks off. This dish elevates spinach from lowly side dish to comfort meal. Seriously, I didn’t know a leaf could be so satisfying.

Did I mention that this soup is also super fast to make. Yeah, like 15 minutes fast. You practically can’t open a can of soup that fast. And using an immersion blender is about 50 times more fun that using a can opener…

Spinach Soup
(inspired by Rachel Allen, fully adapted to what was in my kitchen at the moment)

1/2 Tablespoon butter
1/2 of a medium white onion, diced
2 slices toast, torn into bite sized pieces
2 cups vegetable stock
12 ounces evaporated milk
1 lb raw spinach (the hearty-leaf kind)
parmesan cheese and white truffle oil to garnish (optional)

Melt butter in a medium-sized saucepan. Add onion and cook until soft, about two minutes. Add stock and evaporated milk and bring to a boil. Add torn toast and spinach. Cook until spinach has wilted, about three minutes. Then, use an immersion blender (or a conventional blender/ food processor) to whirl the soup smooth.

Garnish with a sprinkling or parmesan and a drizzle of truffle oil.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.14.2011 9:18 am

    Gorgeous final shot! I’m very excited for getting an immersion blender. I foresee much fun. Also, nice job with the substitutions. Never would have thought of toast.

  2. 01.14.2011 2:44 pm

    That sounds so good. I would definitely have thought to make something like this with broccoli but not with spinach. (And I really need to get an immersion blender!)

  3. Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
    01.14.2011 3:26 pm

    Oh broccoli would be good too… Get an immersion blender! I love it… I can’t believe I didn’t get one sooner.

  4. 01.15.2011 2:46 pm

    Love the new banner head … great pics!

  5. 01.19.2011 11:49 am

    I love spinach so I have a feeling I’d totally love this soup! Especially with a little white truffle oil drizzled on top :) Love your banner :)

  6. 01.30.2011 12:04 pm

    Currently adding spinach to my grocery list for the week.

    Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunshine soup « The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,757 other followers

