Skip to content

spicy, crispy baked chickpeas (garbanzos)

03.09.2011

Snack foods are tough. I actually refuse to buy things like chips and cookies because I know they do me no good… the closest thing you’ll find in my cupboards are Breton crackers and dried mango. That can make things kind of tough when I’m looking for a satisfying nibble on a Sunday afternoon, or while I make dinner on a Tuesday night.

Enter the spicy, crispy baked chickpea. Crunchy. Salty. Satisfying. Not awful for you. Oh, and did I mention east to make? Yeah, super easy.The other wonderful thing about these is that you can mess with them to suit your tastes: add Tabasco for a kick, maybe try some cinnamon for a savory spice, or truffle salt for general yum. Mix it up.

Spicy, crispy baked chickpeas
(my own iteration of an already popular internet snack sensation)

2 15 ounce cans of chickpeas/garbanzos
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika

Heat oven to 400 degrees and grease a 13×18 baking sheet. Using one with sides is a good idea so the beans don’t slip and slide all over the place.

Drain the beans in a colander, and give them a shake to remove excess liquid. Transfer to a medium-sized bowl and then add the olive oil and spices. Mix well, coating the beans evenly in spices. Pour onto the baking sheet and then distribute across it in a single layer.

Bake for 20 minutes, then give them a shake and bake for 15 minutes more. Try to let cool before eating.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.09.2011 10:15 am

    I adore baked chickpeas. They are so healthy, filling and cheap!

    BTW, I met with Bonnie yesterday and I wanted to thank you again for the introduction!

  2. 03.09.2011 10:51 am

    I’ve recently found myself turning to dried cantaloupe for a mid-afternoon snack, so thank you so much for this flavorful, protein-filled alternative. Can’t wait to try out the recipe!

  3. 03.09.2011 8:42 pm

    Baked chickpeas are the best!! Absolutely delicious and guilt-free :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 937 other followers

