Skip to content

fish packets (and a cocktail)

06.29.2012

They say taste is the most powerful sense. In an instant it can transport you to another time, reminding you of your first kiss (bubblegum), bad college decisions (tequila), or simply sitting at the table with your grandmother (hazelnut coffee).

There are dishes and flavors that I associate with specific times of my life. Saffron will forever bring me back to weekend visits home from college, thanks to a dish my dad often made during that time. Egg drop soup will always make me think me of a certain boyfriend who would make it on cold winter afternoons in Wisconsin. And raspberries can instantly transport me to a North Carolina summer.

I mentioned in my last post that I’d made the fish packets from this month’s Bon Appetit. Well, I made them again this week, and plan to make them every week until it gets too cold to grill. I have a feeling that this recipe will  forever remind me of this summer- my first full summer in my new house, my first summer with a real grill.

Simple to prepare, good for you, and bursting with the flavors of summer, I hope these will be a favorite for a long, long time to come. I make my packets out of foil for the grill… I’m worried I’ll burn the parchment. Use this recipe as a guide, filling the packets with your favorite vegetables, and adjusting when things come into season. I imagine corn would be great in here, or sage. Eggplant could work nicely, or green beans and peas. Get creative.

Fish packets with summer vegetables
(Adapted from Bon Appetit)

1.5 pounds cod, or other white fish (use the freshest you can find)
I clove garlic, diced finely
1 medium-sized zucchini, quartered and sliced
1 medium-sized summer squash, quartered and sliced
1 cup grape tomatoes halved, or one medium-sized tomato, diced
2 sprigs rosemary, cut in half
1/4 cup basil, chopped
4 teaspoons olive oil
4 Tablespoons white wine (whatever you have on hand)
Cut four pieces of tin foil about a foot long and place them on the counter. Divide garlic, zucchini, squash, tomatoes and herbs between the four packets and salt and pepper generously. Add olive oil and wine. Place fish on top, and salt and pepper fish, if desired. Seal packets well, and grill over medium-high heat for 10 minutes. Serves four.

Of course, good drink goes along with good food, and I’m enamored with this sparkling sangria recipe at the moment:

1 bottle dry cava or prosecco
1 teaspoon rosewater
2 Tablespoons Gran Marnier or other orange liquor

Combine all ingredients in a pitcher and stir carefully. Serve in champagne flutes garnished with grapefruit slices.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.29.2012 3:35 pm

    I love the look of the grapefruit slice in the champagne flute. Beautiful presentation!

    • Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
      07.02.2012 9:28 am

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. 06.30.2012 10:38 am

    Will definitely be making this ASAP. Do you have a favorite prosecco?

    • Tania deLuzuriaga permalink*
      07.02.2012 9:28 am

      I actually tend to use cava more. Freixenet and Segura Viudas are my go-tos. Both are cheap and available at Trader Joe’s.

Trackbacks

  1. I’m Lame | motivating jess
  2. So long, summer « The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,759 other followers

