Vacation prep

Today my family will storm the tiny island nation of Bermuda. Storm may seem like an overstatement, but I’m fairly certain that’s how the grocers and food establishments on the island will feel once we’ve had our way with them. Somehow the prospect of spending an entire week in a bathing suit does nothing to diminish our appetites.

Lest there be any doubt about the truth of this claim, consider the photo below, which is of a pig we ate at our last family gathering. There were two other meats and numerous side dishes served as well… there were NO leftovers.

IMG_0492

In between meals, I’m looking forward to doing a lot of reading about food. In my bag:

The Big Oyster, Mark Kurlansky. I don’t tend to get gaga about celebrities, but I’d give my left thumb to share a meal with Mark Kurlansky (him or Susan Orlean…) I love his books.

Everything but the Squeal, John Barlow. This one was recommended by my dad, who appreciates pig more than the average person.

The Fortune Cookie Chronicles, Jennifer 8. Lee. I just stumbled upon this one, but I love Chinese food, social histories of food and Jennifer 8. Lee’s writing, so I think this will meet the mark.

The Year of Eating Dangerously, Tom Parker Bowles. Not so sure about this one, but we’ll give it a whirl.

4 thoughts on “Vacation prep

  1. I’m in the middle of reading Fortune Cookie Chronicles and I love it so much! I didn’t like I’d much enjoy a “food” book, but then again, this book is salted with historical facts and indelible anecdotes! Have you read the Omnivore’s Dilemma?

    • I’m in the middle of reading Fortune Cookie Chrnoicles too! Liking it so far, especially since I eat so much “Chinese” food. Haha. I started Omnivore’s Dilema and actually brought in with me as well, though I’m not sure I’ll get to it. Took some time out to read a non-food book!

Leave a Reply

