tomatoes + tortillas + 15 minutes = deliciousness

Oh baby! Back from D.C. and it is COLD- soup weather is here. As a matter of fact, I’ve managed to eat soup at least once a day (and sometimes twice) everyday this week.

While it’s certainly nice to come home to a pot that’s been simmering all day, I don’t always have the foresight or the time to make that happen. So I was thrilled on Sunday when I went to my friend Emily’s house for dinner and she served a spicy tortilla- tomato soup that’s delicious and dead easy to make. It was so good that I gave it a whirl the next day on my own stove. Seriously, 15 minutes is all you need for this.

(*I hope that readers will forgive the lack of multi-media here. I have yet to take a photo of soup that doesn’t come out looking like some kind of gruel. I suppose I could have made a video of me making soup… but like I said, I sometimes lack foresight.)

Tortilla Soup

(adapted from Emily)

½ small onion, diced
Good glug of olive oil
4 to 6 corn tortillas, broken up into small pieces
4 to 6 cups chicken/ vegetable stock, depending on what kind of broth ratio you like
1 can tomatoes and green chiles (RO*TEL or the store brand… doesn’t matter.)
1 avocado (optional)

Heat olive oil in a sauce pan and add onions. Sauté until they become translucent and add the tortillas. Mix well. Add chicken, stock and tomatoes. Bring to a boil and simmer 10 minutes. Serve in a bowl, garnished with chunks of avocado.

2 thoughts on “tomatoes + tortillas + 15 minutes = deliciousness

  1. Love me some tortilla soup! I always put a bunch of dried chilis in the oil at the beginning to spread the goodness around – that way you get a nice red tint on the surface too. If you don’t have good green chilis canned it’s also great to dry toast some seeded/stemmed guajillo chilis in a pan, cover w/hot water for 20 minutes and grind to a paste with garlic, then add that to the onions (I usually add the tomatoes at that point too, before the stock). It’s amazing how much body the guajillos get when you reconstitute ’em that way, and they have an amazing rich-but-tangy flavor that’s great for soup. Might have to make this tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

