Skip to content

chain reaction

02.25.2010

There are many things I love the internet for. It allows me to read the newspaper without walking down four flights of stairs to pick it up off the front step, answers almost any question I have about the universe (thanks, Google!) and lets me keep up on the latest episodes of The Colbert Report even though I don’t have a TV. But I think the thing I love most about the Internet is how it’s changed the way I eat, exposing me to new recipes and restaurants I never would have found on my own.

Case in point: Last week I was perusing Twitter when something written by CarrotsNCake caught my eye. The tweet included a link to her blog and 15 minutes later, I was still reading (What can I say? She writes well and her fitness goals are similar to mine!). Anyway, in a few posts she raved about these kale chips she’d made, basically saying, “Kale Chips Rule!” Now, I don’t believe everything I read on the internet, but I happen to like kale a lot. And the idea of kale baked into a crunchy chip sounded pretty good, and pretty healthy, which is a bonus for me these days.

The next day I came home from the market armed with kale. I put in on a baking sheet with some cooking spray, sprinkled it with sea salt and olive oil and popped into a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. WOW! It was indeed crunchy like a potato chip, but with this intense kale flavor… The closest thing I can think of comparing it to is a sheet of nori (which I also happen to love eating like potato chips).

I had some people over that night and put out a plate of kale chips for people to nibble on- they disappeared like Bud Lights at a Sox game. I was kind of surprised. I mean, I know I have a rather adventurous palate, but I didn’t think kale chips would be so popular. I also told a friend about this recipe find- she promptly tried her hand at them and sent me a text, “Kale Chips Rock!”

What I love about this story (and getting back to my original point) is that the recipe Tina over at Carrots ‘N Cake originally posted is from allrecipes.com. She shared them with her many readers, including me, and now I’m passing it on to you all, who might in turn tell someone else. It’s a little internet chain reaction that’s left us all slightly better off.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02.25.2010 5:16 pm

    Love reading and more than that I love trying your recipes but best of all is when you come and cook with me……Thanks…Keep it going

  2. Blair permalink
    02.26.2010 11:25 am

    Awesome. I first discovered leafy vegetable chips when one fell onto the cooking area and dried up. And of course, I ate it.

  3. 08.08.2011 11:01 am

    I wanted to mention that I made kale chips yesterday. All because of you!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate chip cookies « The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 937 other followers

