Green chile

(Editor’s note: I’ve been informed by some Westerners that despite my Google and Wikipedia research, I spelled green chile wrong. Exact words were, “If you want chili, go to Texas.” That mistake has been corrected.)

So I’ve been on hiatus. Broken camera. New job. But mostly because it’s been too darn hot to be in my kitchen and too darn beautiful to spend any more time than is absolutely necessary sitting in front of a computer. Remember, summer only lasts about 15 minutes here. Ok, slightly longer… but you know what I mean.

Anyway, Labor Day has passed and I guess that means a return from my summer vacation on blogging. I just got back from eating my way though attending a wedding in Boulder, Colorado. Great way to spend the holiday weekend.

I’ve only ever been to Colorado to ski, so it was something of a novelty to be there when things were green and fresh produce was in season. I learned over the course of the last few days that the Centennial State has gotten the serious shaft when it comes to peaches. Georgia gets all the credit, but I have never had a better peach than the ones I scarfed at 5,400 feet. Period.

In addition to peaches (which I was apparently too busy eating to photograph), Colorado does interesting things with chiles. Green ones. You can get them on top of just about everything— including ice cream. You can also go to a vegetable stand and have them freshly roasted for you— a process that takes place inside something resembling a bingo cage. But with fire. It’s pretty cool.

In an effort to improve my pepper knowledge, I recently asked my BFF Erin to give me a tutorial. I grew up in New England, you see. My maternal grandmother didn’t use garlic. Taco Bell was considered ethnic food. My skills with chiles simply aren’t innate.

Erin taught me to make her green chile, which is pretty delicious. As most supermarkets now stock a variety of chiles, you don’t even have to travel to Colorado to get your chile fix. But I would anyway.

Erin’s Green Chile

(Chef’s note: Erin said she kind of makes this up as she goes. Below is the basic format, but feel free to improvise…)

– Start off with 10-30 green chiles. They can be found in the produce section of your grocery store. They’re shiny, smooth, green and slightly larger than a jalapeno. Wash them and roast them, either in the oven (on broil) or on the barbecue. When their skin is charred and black all over, take them out, pop them into a paper bag and seal the bag as best you can. This will let the chiles steam and make removing the skin easier.
– After about 20 minutes, remove the chiles, peel them and remove the stems and seeds.
– In a large frying pan, saute a small onion (cut in bite-size strips) and 2 cloves of chopped garlic in a few tablespoons
of vegetable oil. Season with salt and pepper, and cook till onions START to turn translucent.
– Add about a tablespoon of flour to make a roux
– Add enough water or broth(veg works) to create desired consistency, and roasted green chiles (cut in bite-size strips). If you like, you
can add some drained, diced tomatoes from a can. Don’t use fresh tomatoes because everything else is already cooked.
– Season with salt and pepper again. Add a bit of pork fat here if you like.
– Let simmer 10 minutes to 45 minutes, tasting for flavor.

You don’t want to cook the green chiles again, as the they start to lose their flavor. If they’re already in the sauce, no biggie, because
the oils get into the fluid. But if you saute the green chiles before you add the water, it ends up tasting bland.

2 thoughts on “Green chile

  1. Pingback: The Wallowas, and granola | The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

