Comfort food

Well folks, I’m sick again. Coughing and exhausted… I largely subsisted on Robitussin and TheraFlu this weekend. Hopefully, I’m over the worst of it.

When I get like this, I tend to crave salt and carbs. Comfort food. Melted brie on a baguette with sliced tomato. Biscuits with butter and jam. Or rice, fried crispy and topped with a soft egg.

That last one might seem odd. Chalk it up to growing up in a Filipino family. Sunday breakfast was always fried rice topped with an egg. It’s the best thing I know.

And so that’s what I made last night. I had in mind the Genmai Fried Rice at Myers + Chang.  That is some serious comfort in a bowl. Heavy on garlic. Soft and crunchy at the same time. And very savory, thanks to that egg yolk. My iteration wasn’t quite as hefty as the M+C version… it lacked something, but that could also be the fact that my palate was off due to illness. Anyway, feel free to doctor this as you please. I’ve been trying to eat brown more for nutritional reasons, but white rice would be fine here too. The key to making this great, in my book, is to press the rice into the bottom of the pan with the back of your spatula and then not touch it for a few minutes. This will enable you to achieve the crispy/chewy combo that makes pan fried rice so good.

This would be a great side dish (minus the egg, if you like) to some teriyaki salmon or an Asian-inspired chicken. It would also be great accompanied by Momofuku-style brussels sprouts or as a Meatless Monday entree. Just saying.

The Musing Bouche’s fried rice

3 large cloves garlic, minced
4 Tablespoons vegetable oil
8 scallions, sliced
3 cups cooked brown rice (white is ok too)
2 Tablespoons sesame oil
4 Tablespoons soy sauce
3 Tablespoons toasted sesame seeds (more, if you like)
1 1/2 cups cooked, shelled soybeans (edamame)
Soy sauce and srichacha to taste (optional)

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil and garlic. Let garlic cook about 30 seconds, then add scallion. Add rice, soy sauce and sesame oil, and stir to combine. Then add sesame seeds and soybeans. Combine well and then press rice into the bottom of the pan so it looks like a big patty. Let cook, untouched for three minutes. Then stir up, press again into the bottom of the pan, and let cook another three minutes.

Serve warm, topped with a fried egg over easy. Add soy and srichacha, if desired.

7 thoughts on “Comfort food

  1. You had me at Robitussin and TheraFlu. I’ve had too many similar weekends like this in the last year. This fried rice recipe looks and sounds amazing! If only I could smell it, I might be satisfied enough but as I can’t, I guess I’m just going to have to create it myself! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  2. I love fried rice topped with a fried egg. I love fried eggs. I eat them on garlicly pasta all the time too.

    Feel better!!

  3. Fried rice is the best. It’s so quick and easy and good. And as per the above comment. Egg and pasta-delicious. saw it one time on the food network and made it. I used spaghetti and actually cooked the egg into the noodles.

Leave a Reply

