Brown butter birthday brownies

A lot is going on around here with food and events… but I don’t want to give you the impression I haven’t been in the kitchen.

First thing’s first… Before I left on vacation I did a giveaway for a $20 gift card to Seamless Web. And I bet you’re wondering who won… Congratulations, Justin! Justin actually works in the same building as me, so he already knew he won. But I’m sure he’d like a congratulations from the rest of you.

Back to the food. I was sitting around my kitchen recently with a few girl friends when it struck me that we really needed brownies. Not wanted. Needed. You know the feeling. Besides, it was my friend Lauren’s birthday, and while we’d ordered pizza, we’d neglected a cake. So Lauren got birthday brownies. The ones that graced the cover of a popular food magazine recently… yeah, those ones.

My friends didn’t need much convincing of this plan. They hopped right on board. Actually, I think they just sat on the stools in my kitchen and continued making me laugh hysterically while I browned butter and mixed chocolate and things.

I was really hoping that the “You will eat the entire tray!” thing on the cover didn’t turn out to be true. But the only thing that saved me from devouring the whole pan was the fact that there were other people in the room who also wanted to eat brownies. Then again, that’s usually how it goes for me any anything having to do with brown butter.

I was surprised at how thin they were (you could probably use a smaller pan), but overall they were pretty phenomenal. Rich and fudgy, they were saved from chocolate overload by a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Warning: if cake-like brownies are your thing, you will probably not be into these. Also, this recipe is probably not recommended for diabetics.

Brown butter birthday brownies
(adapted from Bon Appetit)

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 1/4 cups sugar
3/4 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract/paste
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon unbleached all purpose flour

Heat oven to 325 and grease an 8×8 pan.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat, swirling occasionally until butter begins to brown and small bits can be seen at the bottom of the pan. Add sugar, cocoa, water, vanilla, and salt. Stir to blend. Remove from heat.

Crack two eggs in a bowl and add 1/4 cup of chocolate/butter mixture to eggs, beating vigorously to combine. Then add the egg mixture to the rest of the chocolate mixture. Add flour and stir until blended, mixing vigorously for about a minute. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the pan comes out clean.

Makes 16 small, but very rich brownies.

4 thoughts on “Brown butter birthday brownies

  1. I made these too, and they were phenomenal. I’m still shocked at how rich they are with just cocoa powder. I’m used to melting chocolate and adding it to brownie batter. I used the walnuts and toasted them, and my brownies did not come out too flat. They looked like the picture… but I’ve seen a lot of reviews that people ended up with pretty flat brownies.

    • I didn’t mind the flat brownies and they were delish, but I wasn’t expecting them. Would probably try nuts next time.

Leave a Reply

