Training vs. life… and molten chocolate cake

How is it already Monday?

My day was made when I saw this video by my great friends at November Project. If you’ve never been, or don’t understand why I like going so much, this sums it up pretty well. It is fun and silly, and also kind of hard and makes me do and try things I never would on my own. And it helps a lot to be surrounded by wonderful people who hug and encourage and sweat it out next to you.

The song in this video is an instrumental version of “Run, run, run” by Michelle Lewis, which has become the de facto anthem of this year’s Boston Marathon. I tear up every time I hear it.

I was not at NP this morning, a fact that I regretted greatly when I read the blog and saw this sweet video. But sometimes, life happens. And it happened in a big way the last few days.

I planned all week to do a long run this past weekend. But there was a new dining room table being delivered, and coordinating with family to get the old one over to my sister’s. An old friend was in town, and we stayed up way too late Saturday night catching up. A yoga event Saturday with dear friends. And then, (surprise !) family in town and an invitation to Sunday dinner at my aunt’s. I spent a lot of time this weekend catching up with loved ones. I did not spend a lot of time running… I actually did not spend any time running.

It’s a hard thing to balance. I know I need to do a certain amount of training to get ready for August. But I’m also determined not to let training get in the way of the other great things in my life. I want to maintain my friendships, and catch up with family that I don’t get to see too often. I want to travel, to indulge in a nap on Saturday, to have dinner with friends. Friends, how do you strike that balance in life?

photo-2

I did have a great run Friday with NP. This never gets old. 

In addition to an unexpectedly full weekend, I completely lost my #weatherproof mentality last week. It was cold and windy, and I had zero desire to be outside. So here’s the week:

Monday: bike 65 minutes
Tuesday: speed work at track, 3 miles
Wednesday: rest/ foam roll and stretch
Thursday: yoga, swim 1,600 yards
Friday: run hills, 5 miles
Saturday: bike 90 minutes
Sunday: yoga

Total: Run 8 miles, bike 155 minutes, swim 1600 yards, yoga x 2

NP

It wouldn’t be a workout without a bit of extra NP spice.
Photo credit: Rosa Evora

Swimming:
This week’s swim workout focused on speed.

Warm up: 200 swim, 200 kick, 200 pull
Set: 8 x 100 freestyle on 2:00
I did the first 100 easy, then built on the second one (meaning I got faster each length), then easy, then an all out sprint. I did that twice. I hadn’t timed a 100-yard sprint in a long time, and did these on 1:24 which isn’t fast, but is good to know for a baseline.
Cool down: 200 pull
Total yards: 1,600

And a recipe… 

If you’re read this far, you deserve a treat. Namely, a wonderful molten chocolate cake that contains just four ingredients. You probably have everything you need to make this dessert in your kitchen right now: chocolate, butter, sugar, eggs.

You can mix the batter ahead of time and then pop the ramekins into the freezer until you’re ready to bake. They’ll last at least a week, maybe two, without serious damage. The easiest way to make the batter is in a double boiler. However, if you don’t have one, a mixing bowl set over a pot of water will do just fine.

IMG_4334

Flourless molten chocolate cake
(Adapted from Eat Boutique)
makes 4

7 oz best-quality semisweet chocolate
6 Tablespoons butter
3 eggs, separated
3.5 oz sugar

Heat butter and sugar in a double boiler, stirring occasionally until chocolate is melted and butter is fully incorporated. Set aside.

Use a mixer to beat egg whites until frothy. Add sugar and beat until egg whites hold soft peaks.

Temper the egg yolks: add 1/4 cup of chocolate mixture to egg yolks and beat vigorously. Add yolk mixture to chocolate mixture and mix well. Then add chocolate mixture to egg whites and mix well.

Spoon mixture into four ramekins, or if you don’t have ramekins, sturdy, oven safe coffee cups. Cover with plastic wrap and freeze for at least one hour. When ready to bake, remove plastic wrap, heat oven to 325 and bake for 30 minutes, until sides are set. Serve topped with ice cream, if you like.

 

 

Leave a Reply

