behind in life

Between Easter and the Marathon, I’ve been behind in logging my workouts.

I brought by bike to the shop last week for a tune-up and to have a new computer put on. Apparently everyone else had the same idea because they told me that they were running a backlog and that it would be a WEEK before it was done. Alas… no biking. I did try to go to a spin class Sunday, but when I got there I found out the gym was closed for Easter. #FAIL

So workouts last week looked like this:
Monday: Destination deck with November Project
Tuesday: Run 5
Wednesday: Stadium with November Project (30 sections)
Thursday: Swim 2,000 yards
Friday: Run 4
Saturday: Run 11, yoga
Sunday: REST

Total: Run 20, bike 0, swim 2,000

The good part of last week was that I did two workouts in less than optimal conditions. I spent all day Tuesday knowing that I wanted to run, but a late start and a busy day made that impossible until after work. The wind was gusting, and it was spitting rain, but I headed out and put five miles in. I was actually pretty happy to be out there, once I got going.

Wednesday morning was only slightly better. It snowed Tuesday night and I had to scrape off my car before I could head out. The wind was still gusting and the stadium steps were coated in ice, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

10271593_528492253925877_4294904580488527977_n

All bundled up at a cold and windy stadium

Last week’s swim workout focused on speed.

Warm up: 200 free, 200 pull, 200 kick (I’m a creature of habit!)

Main set: 10x 100 on 2:00
1-5, descending; the goal here is to swim each 1o0 faster than the one before it
6-10, with flippers, descending

Cool down: 200 pull, 100 backstroke, 100 breaststroke

Total yards: 2,000

I managed to do the first five 100s pretty respectably, though not descending:
1. 1:28
2. 1:24
3. 1:26
4: 1:27
5. 1:22 (new PR!)

This week is looking good training-wise. I’m doing the Newport 10-miler on Sunday, so that will be a good chance to see how the training pays off.

Leave a Reply

