D.C. weekend

I’m generally pretty low-key about things, but I was so excited at the prospect of leaving town, seeing old friends, and enjoying some nice weather that it was tough to curb my enthusiasm. I counted down the hours and minutes until my plane took off on Thursday the way a kid counts down to Christmas.

Finally, I was touching down in DC and my friend Emily was picking my up at the airport.

It was muggy! Spring is just getting underway here in Boston, but it’s almost summer in D.C. I hadn’t been in that sort of weather in a long time, but it was a welcome change. After a delicious dinner with Em and her husband, I tucked into bed with the windows wide open to let in the night air.

While the sun in Boston rises at about 5:30 these days, it doesn’t make an appearance until almost 6 in Washington, D.C. I rose in the dark and was out the door at dawn, headed to see the November Project, D.C. tribe. The workout was a quick mile away, but I wanted to give myself plenty of time in case I got lost. Fortunately, it all went smoothly and I was at Union Station well before 6:30.

2014-05-09-06.59.48-768x576D.C. Tribe

Steve and Danny has a great workout planned. After a short run over to Lower Senate Park, we started a circuit that included bear crawls, bunny hopping up stairs, burpees, and then stair-a-manders- crawling down stairs head first on your hands and feet, and doing a push-up on each step. We did the circuit for twenty minutes or so and then did another, shorter circuit-type workout with partners. It was a great start to the morning, and fun to see how what two guys started in Boston a couple years ago has become a life-improving movement for people in 16 cities.

My morning was far from done after NP. Instead, I hopped a Capitol Bikeshare and rode to Adams Morgan to see my friend Tracy. Tracy is an avid swimmer, and the outdoor pool at her health club just opened for the season, so I headed over there with her to swim a quick mile before she had to head off to work. It was so fun to be able to swim outside. Everyone was complaining that it was a bit chilly, but I was just happy to see the sky and breathe fresh air while doing my laps. Tracy and I had time for a bit of catching up while we walked to her office, and then I kept walking, eventually ending up at the White House.

photo-9I loved these bike lanes.

I could have wandered all day, but I had lunch plans and needed to get back to Capitol Hill to change my clothes, so I hopped on a bike again and headed back to Emily’s. Five hours. Ten miles on the bike. A mile in the water. A few more miles on foot. A circuit workout with the Tribe. I wish every Friday could start this way.

The rest of my week looked like this:
Monday: Run 4, #destinationdeck with November Project
Tuesday: Run 2 at track. Bike to and from track.
Wednesday: Bike 10, hills.
Thursday: REST
Friday: Run 1, bike 10, walk many, swim 1
Saturday: Buff Betty <– more to come on this soon!
Sunday: REST

Total: Run 7, bike 25+, swim 1,700

 

One thought on “D.C. weekend

  1. Pingback: Buff Betty | The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

