Deconstructed granola pancakes

For years I’ve been telling people that I can’t make pancakes. Sure, I can smoke a pork shoulder and make fruit preserves, but my attempts at pancakes were generally sub-par. Sometimes they burned, sometimes they tasted terrible. But I’m happy to report that I’ve finally figured it out.

I went on a long ride last weekend with the Blue Hills Cycling Club. Just a few guys showed up for their 6 a.m. Saturday ride, and they very nicely let me come along despite my being obviously slower than them. I rode with them to Scituate (similar loop here) and then told them to go ahead. It was a gorgeous route along some back roads on the South Shore and then along the water from Hull to Cohasset. I managed to find my way home without too much trouble and felt much better on this 50-miler than I had just a week ago at the CRW Spring Century.

IMG_5370

When I got home it was almost 11 and I was pretty hungry. I try to eat every hour on the bike, but Clif bars aren’t super satisfying. A couple of these pancakes topped with syrup from my friend Billings did the trick pretty well though.

My inspiration for these was a granola pancake I saw on a menu somewhere. The idea of having more texture and wholesomeness in a pancake appealed to me, and I’ve discovered that the leftovers make a great pre-workout or mid-morning snack.

photo-2

Deconstructed granola pancakes
Makes 11 large pancakes

1 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup almond flour
2 Tablespoons baking powder
1/4 sugar
1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut
1/2 cup wheat bran
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 cup golden raisins
1 Tablespoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups milk or almond milk
1 egg
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil or melted butter

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Heat a cast iron skillet over medium heat and coat with a bit of melted butter. If butter sizzles in pan, reduce heat to low. Scoop 1/2 cup of batter per pancake into pan and let spread. Flip when batter starts to bubble and sides look slightly cooked. Let cook another minute or two and then remove from pan. Store leftovers wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge.

One thought on “Deconstructed granola pancakes

  1. Pingback: Ashland Olympic Triathlon | The Musing Bouche

Leave a Reply

