Getting ready for a triathlon

Getting ready for your first triathlon can be a pretty intimidating experience. In addition to training hard, you need a lot more gear than for your typical single-sport event. Two nights before my race last weekend, I started laying out the gear I needed on my dining room table. Pretty soon it looked like this:

IMG_5627

In an effort not to forget anything, I thought about what I’d need both overall, and for specific events. My list looked like this:

General:
sunscreen
tri shorts
sports bra
top
HR monitor
beach towel
nutrition

Swim:
wetsuit
body glide
goggles
spare cap

Bike:
water bottles (1 water, 1 half Gatorade/ half water)
socks
bike shoes
helmet
sunglasses
chamois butt’r
(I also pumped up my bike tires the night before the race)

Run:
sneakers
spi belt
visor

When I set up my transition area, I put things in sport-specific groups to minimize the amount of time I’d spend looking for them. I stashed gels and gummies on my bike, so I wouldn’t forget them, and untied/unbuckled all shoes, so I could slip them on quickly. I put my sunglasses in my helmet, and my socks on top of my bike shoes. I set my area up on a beach towel, and left enough room for me to stand on it. This gave me a spot to wipe my feet after the swim transition, so I wouldn’t end up with grass/dirt in my shoes.

photo

Everyone has a slightly different technique when it comes to both gear lists and transition set up. But I think the key to a successful race is thinking ahead about what you need, and having an organized transition area that makes it as easy as possible to get from one leg to the next.

Leave a Reply

