Lately…

Well, I seem to be making up for lack of long rides lately. Last weekend I headed to Jaffrey, NH for a Wicked Awesome New England Adventure (W.A.N.A.) weekend, hosted by my new friend Lily. Most of the 25 or so folks attending were triathletes, though some were just there for the fun, and some were there with triathletes. Lily grew up going to this area, and her parents graciously hosted a large group of us for a weekend of riding, swimming, and general shenanigans.

I drove out there Friday after work, and arrived almost at the same time as Katy, which was fortunate as she was one of the only people I knew there. Friday night was pretty low-key: eating, a few beers, and meeting the other folks in the group. I was having so much fun talking with people that I completely lost track of time and didn’t head to bed until midnight (super late for me!) I was up at 7 the next morning, and after a delicious breakfast, 16 of us headed out for a bike ride. There were 30, 50, and 60 mile options, which all started together and then broke off, depending on the size of the loop. Five of us did the 50-mile option, a hilly route through western New Hampshire.

photo-003view of Monadnock/ in-motion selfies

I had kind of a tough time on this ride. The hills were hard… I always have a tough time with hills, but I felt like I had nothing in me Saturday. Nutritionally, I was ok, but my legs just felt generally weak. I’ve been amping up my running a bit, and wonder if that’s making biking harder? Fortunately, I was with a great group of people. We chatted, took some selfless, and admired the scenery along 54 miles of (sometime dirt) road. It really was a great day to be out.

photo-004covered bridge/local residents

When I got back, I wanted nothing more than to lay in the grass and eat a plate of food the size of my bike helmet. Instead, I put on my shoes and did a quick three-mile run. My legs felt pretty good, and my splits were decent, which was nice after the way I’d felt on the bike. I rewarded myself with lasagna and a beer.

Later that afternoon we headed to a lake near Lily’s house, where we did a quick swim across the lake and spent the rest of the time taking advantage of the diving board, slide, and floats. It felt like summer camp.

I headed out soon after, as my little brother arrived Saturday to visit for a few days. Even though the bike was kind of touch, I’m so glad I went and did this. It was a beautiful way to spend a day.

The rest of my week looked like this:
Monday: run 8
Tuesday: swim 1,000
Wednesday: ride 15
Thursday: swim Walden
Friday: run 4
Saturday: bike 54, run 3
Sunday: REST

Totals: swim 2, bike 69, run 15

I had my eight-week assessment at PT last week, and while my right hip is still weaker than my left I’ve made a lot of improvement. It’s unclear whether my insurance will approve another round of physical therapy, even though I still don’t feel 100 percent. My therapist told me that the chances are slim, given that I was able to run 8 miles last week. But, I know what exercises I need to be doing, so I just need to be good about incorporating them into my routine to avoid more injuries. Less than three weeks until Timberman!

Leave a Reply

