2015: aspirations

So this is the new year. After a whirlwind two weeks of travel (Vermont, England, and Madrid), I’m just now registering that 2015 is in full swing. With that, some reflection into the past year is probably due.

I started 2014 by signing up for a half ironman, a goal that largely defined my year. Over eight months of preparation, I rediscovered my love of biking and swimming, trained in locales near and far, braved the elements, and built some great friendships. Ultimately, it was that journey, not the race itself, that made the experience so worthwhile. I had a lot of fun training for that race, even if the end result wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for.

While I spent a good amount of time training, I made time for fun as well. I skied regularly for the first time in more than a decade. I mountain biked in California, whale watched in Nova Scotia, hiked in New Hampshire, and swam in rivers in North Carolina. I made new friends, had dinner parties, baked cakes, and even fished a little. It was a pretty full, and awesome, year.

2014

That said, my life looks a bit different than it did a year ago, and if things go well, there are some changes on the horizon. I’m hesitant to set outright goals for myself, since I’m not 100 percent sure what life will look like in six months. It may not be reasonable to commit to another half iron race, but I do want to leave the option on the table. That said, here’s a few things I’m aspiring to in 2015:

Run 50 miles a month. This is a big deal, as I haven’t done more than 50 miles a month since July, but it averages out to less than 15 miles a week. My hip has been feeling pretty good, and if I’m consistent with stretching and training, I can do it.

Do at least three olympic distance triathlons. I love tris, and the olympic is a distance I’m confident I can train for even if other aspects of life need more attention.  This will also encourage me to keep biking and swimming, which I love.

IMG_6879

Break two hours in the half-marathon. I’m looking at a late spring race.

Complete a Presi traverse. I love hiking, and I’d like to do a lot more of it this year.

IMG_7605

Bike the Kancamangus. This seems like it would be really pretty. Hard, but pretty.

Record the good. There’s a lot to be said for focusing on the positives in life. That’s why I’m doing a “rememberlutions” jar again.

This isn’t everything I want to do in 2015, but financial and career goals aren’t as interesting to talk about, so I won’t bore you with them here.

 

2 thoughts on “2015: aspirations

  1. Yay for goals and more swimming and biking 🙂 Let me know what half you end up signing up for, I am looking for a spring race too! I hope to see you in the pool soon! I also agree that financial goals are awesome.

Leave a Reply

