Chive blossom vinegar

Memorial Day has passed, I’ve switched from red wine to gin, and started getting pedicures again. Technically, I suppose, it’s summer, though the rain and chilly temps this week have me feeling otherwise.

We did have a brief glimpse of what summer is supposed to look like, a few fleeting days where I could wear sundresses and sandals and revel in the feeling of the sun on my skin. After work Friday, a few colleagues and I gathered on my office terrace to celebrate the end of the academic year, and soak in the feeling of summer. While I generally don’t say much about work, I will say this: we have one of the best views in Harvard Square.

chive5

A few of my craftier colleagues banded together this year and started a garden on the office terrace, hauling pots of herbs and vegetables up to the 10th floor of my building. I’ve contributed nothing but smiles to their efforts (my thumbs tend toward brown), but they’ve still let me partake in the fruits of their labor- lovely bunches of kale, mint, and thyme. When I went out to harvest them last week, I noticed that the scallion plant was also blossoming, and I knew at once how I could repay my colleagues’ kindness: with chive blossom vinegar.

chiveChives blossoms often get overlooked for their sturdier, flavorful stems. But these seemingly dainty flowers impart a lovely flavor to cheese spreads and salads, and a bottle of infused vinegar makes a pretty and delicious gift.

chive4
It’s also dead simple. Snip the flowers just below the bud. Wash, put in a mason jar, and cover with vinegar (I used apple cider, but white will do just fine). Shake to combine, wait about a week, and voila… chive blossom vinegar.

chive3The vinegar is great in salad dressings or marinades. Add a few teaspoons (or Tablespoons) to sautéed greens like kale or collards. A touch in an aioli would be superb. Mix with soy sauce and sesame oil to make a dip for dumplings. Drizzle with olive oil on an avocado toast. Get it?

Chive2Ok, then. Go make some!

Leave a Reply

